RSS

Scorsese in 3D?!

17 Jan

If you’ve read any of my past posts, you’ll notice my love for Martin Scorsese and his works of art, but as I left the theater after finally seeing “Hugo”, I found myself incredibly demoralized. It wasn’t that this movie was terrible, it just wasn’t much of anything. I cannot stand 3D movies, so I’m sure this played into my indifference, but if you’re expecting this film to be typical Scorsese, you’re setting yourself up for disappointment. “Hugo” takes place in early 20th century France and Scorsese does a remarkable job with the scenery, costumes, and overall feel of the time period. I’m sure this film will find itself nominated for costume design and visual effects.

 

The story line itself jumps all over the place, and it’s difficult to latch on to any one character. There are several characters in this film to follow, and although the use of multiple characters and story lines can help a movie flow, “Hugo” misses that target. Scorsese’s last four films were Shutter Island, The Departed, The Aviator, and Gangs of New York, all of which have an incredible dark and gritty feel to them, as well as having zero child actors in lead roles. This is a huge step for Scorsese to take, and as this is his first film in over ten years without Leonardo DiCaprio, he may be asking too much of both Asa Butterfield, and Chloe Grace Moretz who play Hugo Cabret and Isabelle. Overall I give this film a C+, it didn’t captivate me but the visual effects were spectacular, and Ben Kingsley’s story line was fantastic. Check out “Hugo” and let me know what you think!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
